#

When Twitter first became relevant some six or seven years ago, the number sign followed by text without spaces was being used by several users. For me, a teenage girl who just parted with MySpace, I was confused by this, and judging from what I saw, so were some of the users falling victim to the hashtag craze.

One day, I clicked on a hashtag and realized that it created an archive of all Tweets that contained the same hashtag as the one I clicked. I was amazed.  This was so useful! Around this time, I imagine, I started using hashtags. Although I’m still not aware of how to properly use hashtag posts, at the time, I was pulling the hashtags from trending topics trying to get attention for my tweets. I did not realize that because my tweets were protected, only my followers could see my hashtagged tweets. This principle is the same for instagram.

Hashtags on instagram are what makes the instaworld go round.   It seems as though every picture has at least one hashtag relating to the post, and if you’re feeling egregious (I see you, preteen girls), hashtags can be used in excess. A recent trend is hashtags for each day of the week. Here is a brief rundown on each other

           #MCM or #ManCrushMonday: These posts are done by insagrammers who want to let the world know who they’re crushing on this week. This could be a celebrity crush, or even a boyfriend.

photo 1

#TransformationTuesday: #TransformationTuesday is usually done using a collage app where the user posts a picture of themselves when they were younger along with a current picture to see the back to back comparison. Like a few of the other weekly hashtags, #TransformationTuesday requires an older photo.

#WCW or #WomanCrushWednesday: Like #ManCrushMonday, #WomanCrushWednesday displays who users are crushing on. Girls sometimes use this hashtag to show an idol, or someone they aspire to be.

#TBT or #ThrowbackThursday: This is my personal favorite hashtag. With this hashtag, instagram users post pictures from way-back-when. I utilize this #tbt to its fullest because my phone ran out of memory so I can’t take new pictures.

photo 2

#FlashbackFriday: Similar to #ThrowbackThursday, #FlashbackFriday is just another outlet for instagram users to post pictures of themselves, friends, others, etc. from times past. This is not as popular as the classic #tbt, but it is still a popular hashtag.

#Caturday: Judging from the internet, this should be self-explanatory. What #Caturday means is that users post pictures of their cats (as if they didn’t already).

#SelfieSunday: This hashtag provides users with a reason to post a selfie or a picture of themselves taken by themselves. Many users post selfies regardless of the day, however, this allows instagrammers to do it shamelessly.

 

With that said, if you were ever wondering what to post on instagram, these daily hashtags could be of assistance. You don’t have to follow these rules, however, this is a fun trend to #follow.

By Noelle St. Louis

Leave a Reply

